Monday, August 25, 2008

Radiohead and Liars at the Hollywood Bowl, 8/24/08


In the daylight while
the venue filled, their howls were
Hollow and tortured.


REM lyrics
Whispered assure that this band
Remember their roots.

Radiohead Set List:

1. 15 Step
2. There There
3. The Morning Bell
4. All I Need
5. Pyramid Song
6. Nude
7. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi
8. The Gloaming
9. The National Anthem
10. A Wolf At The Door
11. Faust Arp
12. Exit Music (For A Film)
13. Jigsaw Falling Into Place
14. Idioteque
15. Climbing Up The Walls
16. Body Snatchers
17. How To Disappear Completely
18. Video Tape
19. Paranoid Android
20. Dollars and Cents
21. Street Spirit (Fade Out)
22. Reckoner
23. House of Cards
24. Lucky (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
25. Everything In Its Right Place (began with a quote from REM's "Electrolite")

Dear lord, guys. Someday I am going to ask Colin Greenwood what it feels like to yield such a sound. I thought he was going to split the sky open with it during "Climbing Up The Walls." Also, I advise every last one of my readers to reexamine "The Gloaming" for evidence of other-worldly messages. I will attest to their presence as of last night. It probably goes without saying that this concert, nor any of their concerts, can be compacted into language other than that which they deal in (usually lightwork and distortion), so rather than frivolous commentary, I have striven for documentation with this haiku. Do yourselves a favor and go see Radiohead live before you die.

No comments: